Hipcut - Hip Society

Hipcut - Hip Society

  • Out of stock
  • Condition New
  • SKU MR011
  • Label Melting Records
  • Style Hip Hop, Rap, Trip Hop, Independent
  • Format LP
  • Weight 140gr
Track List:
1. Introduction to Hip Society 03:07
2. Red eyed feat. Awon 03:27
3. Chase 04:14
4. Torn feat. Awon 04:03
5. Sounds in the Night feat. DJ Moya 02:27
6. Precision feat. Sugahspank! 04:12
7. Sentimental Serenade 03:20
8. No time feat. Vikkie 03:03
9. Red eyed (instrumental) (Bonus) 03:27
10. Precision (instrumental) (Bonus) 03:47
Hip Society is the fantastic new album from Hipcut, the Crete-based notorious crate-digger. The young Greek beat-maker — also a member of the audio/visual duo Monisme — has self-released a handful of well-received cuts via Bandcamp and now joins the Melting Records family with his latest work. Hip Society features 10 tracks (with 3 bonus instrumentals) combining flavors of jazzy downtempo, boom-bap breaks, spacey trip hop, and ‘90s Wu-style hip-hop. It’s an audio treasure trove of moods and motion.

Hip Society gives Hipcut an opportunity to combine his multi-layered soundscapes with talented vocalists. American rapper Awon (Don’t Sleep Records) displays his deep verbal skills on the exceptional cuts “Red Eyed” and “Torn.” Renowned Greek soul-singer Sugahspank sprinkles her moving vocal magic all over “Precision”. “No Time” features newcomer Vikkie dropping her smooth flow in a delicious old school style. The collaborations go beyond vocals, as “Sounds In The Night” includes def-defying scratch antics from Athens-based turntablist DJ Moya.

Hip Society is a sonic film noir, complete with torch songs and moods for smokey cafés. The beats swing and the arrangements are cinematic, evoking dark blues and covert activities. “Chase” is like an updated soundtrack to a detective caper from the ‘30s, and “Sentimental Serenade” could accompany a sultry, grainy black-and-white encounter in the rain. Hipcut delivers the goods, and Hip Society is a sublime mystery waiting to be solved through the speakers.

Offcialy released March 17, 2019


Custom static block for product detail

Free shipping in Greece for orders over 50€


Shipping immediately by the time we receive the order


Simply return it within 30 days


We ensure secure payment